Using Synchrotron Based X-ray Scattering and Absorption Spectroscopy and TXM imaging Techniques to Study the New Cathode Materials for Next Generation of Batteries 

Xiao-Qing Yang

Brookhaven National Laboratory, Upton

Abstract: The new results of using in situ and ex situ synchrotron based x-ray techniques, such as x-ray diffraction (XRD), x-ray absorption spectroscopy (XAS), transmission x-ray microscopy (TXM), in situ X-ray fluorescence (XRF) microscopy combined with X-ray absorption spectroscopy (XAS), as well as pair distribution function (PDF) on advanced battery materials will be discussed. Studies on several new materials  will be presented, such as LiNi0.5Mn1.5O4, as high voltage cathode materials, Li-rich and Mn-rich materials as high energy density materials for Li-ion battery, as well as Li-S system for next generation high energy batteries.

Biography: Dr. Xiao-Qing Yang is the group leader of the electrochemical energy storage group in the Chemistry Department of Brookhaven National Laboratory (BNL).  He is the Principal Investigator (PI) for several Battery Material Research (BMR) programs including the Batter500 consortium  at BNL funded by the Office of Vehicle Technologies, EE&RE, U.S. Department of Energy (USDOE). He has been invited to give presentations at international conferences, as well as at DOE organized workshops in battery research. He has served as organizer and Co-Chairman of many international conferences on lithium battery research, such as the IBA2007 (International Battery Material Associate meeting 2007 in Shenzhen, China), and the IMLB2008 (International Meeting of Lithium Battery 2008 in Tianjin, China). He received the “2012 Vehicle Technologies Program R&D Award” from the Vehicle Technologies Office of EE&RE, USDOE in May, 2012. In January 2015, he received the 2015IBA Research award from the International Battery Association (IBA). He is one of the leading principal investigators (PIs) of the USDOE funded Battery500 project.