Two-dimensional Supramolecular Hybrid Framework for Electrochemical Capacitors

Da-Wei Wang

The University of New South Wales 

Abstract: Electrochemical capacitors (ECs) provide appealing energy storage solutions, because of their higher power density, better safety and greater life span relative to lithium batteries. Rational design and synthesis of two-dimensional (2D) materials (such as graphene, MXene, transition metal dichalcogenides, etc.) has shown great impact for transformative technological advances for ECs. We will discuss the discovery of a 2D conductive supramolecular hybrid framework material, as well as its structure and relevant electrochemical properties for ECs. The 2D framework comprises periodically stacked 2D nanosheets with 1.2-nm basal spacing, in which aligned polyaniline nanochains are cross-linked by tungstic acid molecules via arrayed side-chain multiple hydrogen bonds. In contrast to the pre-existing framework materials (for example MOFs), this conductive 2D framework has large density (~1.8 g cm−3) and low porosity (16.5 m2 g−1). The electrochemical performance (up to 732 F cm−3 in neutral aqueous electrolytes) and pseudocapacitive intercalation mechanism will be highlighted.

Biography: Da-Wei Wang joined UNSW in 2014, and is currently Senior Lecturer in School of Chemical Engineering. His research focuses on the chemistry and synthesis of high-performance energy materials, and the design of new generation renewable energy conversion/storage systems, including supercapacitors, rechargeable batteries, fuel cells and flow batteries. Part of his research is dedicated to the exploration of novel two-dimensional materials and the intriguing properties that inspire ‘unknown’ applications. As a Chief Investigator, Da-Wei has attracted external funding (>3M A$). Da-Wei has contributed 2 book chapters, >100 journal publications, 8 patents and over 20 keynote/invited presentations, which received >12,000 citations with an h-index of 40 (Google Scholar).  Da-Wei has won some prestigious awards including 2012 Fundamental Research Excellence Award of University of Queensland, 2013 Scopus Young Researcher Award in Engineering and Technology (Australian Universities).